Home Politics Here Are The 12 States That Agreed To Shift To Popular Vote...

Here Are The 12 States That Agreed To Shift To Popular Vote System

Colorado’s Senate has passed a bill to have the state award its presidential electoral votes to the winner of the national popular vote.

SB-19 passed on party lines Tuesday in the Senate.

Democratic Sen. Mike Foote’s bill would have Colorado join 11 states and the District of Columbia in what’s called the National Popular Vote Interstate Compact.

It would require Colorado Electors to the Electoral College to cast their vote for the winner of the national popular vote. Currently, Colorado electors vote for the candidate who wins in Colorado.

“This really is a victory for those who believe that every vote should be counted equally,” Foote (D-Lafayette) said.

Today Colorado Gov. Jared Polis (D) signed into law this bill!

Polis signed the measure after both chambers of the state’s legislature passed the bill last month along party lines, with Democrats pulling heavily for the measure.

Colorado now joins 11 other states and the District of Columbia as part of the National Popular Vote Interstate Compact.

The 11 states which have already agreed to the compact before Colorado— Vermont, Rhode Island, Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Washington, New York, Illinois, New Jersey, and California— have passed legislation in their respective statehouses agreeing to favor the popular vote in presidential elections.

The addition of Colorado’s nine electoral votes brings the total to 181.

New Mexico, with 5 electoral votes, could be the next state to sign on to the compact, as its state senate recently passed a bill in favor of awarding electoral votes to the national popular vote winner and it awaiting the governor’s signature there. The same is true in Delaware, which has 3 electoral votes. Those two states would add another 8 electoral votes to the compact, getting it up to 189 total electoral votes–putting it 81 electoral votes shy of adoption.

Although the popular vote movement has been branded as a bipartisan effort by supporters of the legislation, most of the states that have signed onto the National Popular Vote Interstate Compact are blue states.

The joint agreement only goes into effect if enough states sign on that would total 270 electoral votes –– the number needed to win the presidency.

Hillary’s defeat to the last election forced the Dems to find another way to get their candidates into the White House!

The Dems took a step forward in eliminating the electoral college and adopting a popular vote system, we must stop them because the MSM stays silent and this is how it all begins!